top of page

Beatles Go Baroque

SAT 16 JUL 2022 8:30PM

Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra
Naohisa Furusawa, conductor

Hailed by Leonard Bernstein as the “Schuberts of our time”, the Lennon-McCartney songwriting team has captivated generations with their original work. Reset for chamber orchestra by prolific composer Peter Breiner, this collection of Beatles “concertos” was a multi-platinum hit! Join us for the mash-up of the century as MPO performs 18th-century masterpieces such as Vivaldi’s Four Seasons combined with the Beatles’ most timeless melodies such as Hey Jude, Here Comes the Sun and Get Back. Conducted by Naohisa Furusawa.

Beatles Concerto grosso No. 1 (In the Style of Handel)
I. She Loves You: A tempo giusto
II. Lady Madonna: Allegro
III. Fool On the Hill: Adagio
IV. Honey Pie: Allegro
V. Penny Lane: Allegro

Beatles Concerto grosso No. 3 (In the Style of J. S. Bach)
I. The Long and Winding Road: Overture
II. Eight Days a Week: Rondeau
III. She's Leaving Home: Sarabande
IV. We Can Work It Out: Bourree
V. Hey Jude: Polonaise
VI. Yellow Submarine: Badinerie

Beatles Concerto grosso No. 4
I. Here Comes the Sun
II. Michelle
III. Goodnight
IV. Carry That Weight


Beatles Concerto grosso No. 6 (After Bach's BWV 1041)
I. I Want to Hold Your Hand
II. Something
III. Day Tripper

Beatles Concerto grosso No. 8 (After Vivaldi's, Op. 8)
I. A Day in the Life
II. Norwegian Wood
III. Octopus's Garden
IV. Because
V. Back in the U.S.S.R.
VI. Julia
VII. Get Back

Duration: Approximately 2 hrs (with 20 mins intermission)

RM130    RM180    RM210    RM250
Suite Seat: RM400/seat

View & Download Concert Programme


Out of consideration for both audience and artists, children under the age of 8 are not allowed in the concert hall unless otherwise indicated.

bottom of page